Dumfries and Galloway Council agrees new Administration and Leader

Tuesday, 07 March 2023 14:47

At a special meeting of Full Council today (Tuesday 7 March), elected members agreed a new administration with immediate effect.

In summary:

  • Cllr Malcolm Johnstone was elected Convener, Depute Leader and Civic Head.
  • Cllr Gail Macgregor was elected Leader and Depute Convener.

Convener, Councillor Malcolm Jonhstone, said: “What the communities we serve need is stability in order to deliver high-quality education and social care, create the environment for businesses to thrive and grow, tackle the cost-of-living increases and improve the quality of our roads network.

“In line with our Council principles, I look forward to working with all our elected members to safeguard our future, support our citizens, support our communities and be a responsive council.”

Depute Convener, Councillor Gail Macgregor, said: “I’m delighted and thrilled to be elected Leader and Depute Convener of Dumfries and Galloway Council.

“Ours will be a collaborative administration, working together with other political groups to implement the ambitious Council Plan we agreed last week.

“I will use all my experience developed over the last 16 years as a councillor in Dumfries and Galloway – and the work I have done through my role at COSLA – to find areas of commonality with other political groups.”

The Council also agreed on the size of committees, proportionality, and committee chairs and vice-chairs.


Economy and Resources
Chair: Cllr Ian Carruthers
Vice-Chair: Cllr David Inglis

Education and Learning
Chair: To be confirmed (Independent Group)
Vice-Chair: Cllr Maureen Johnstone

Chair: Cllr Ian Blake
Vice-Chair: Cllr Jackie McCamon

Social Work
Chair: Cllr Pauline Drysdale
Vice-Chair: Cllr Chrissie Hill

Finance, Procurement and Transformation
Chair: Cllr Ivor Hyslop
Vice-Chair: Cllr Richard Marsh

Audit, Risk and Scrutiny
Chair: To be confirmed (SNP)
Vice-Chair: To be confirmed (Labour)

Planning Applications
Chair: To be confirmed (Independent Group)
Vice-Chair: Cllr Andrew Guisti


Employment and Appeals
Chair: To be confirmed

Chair: Cllr Andrew Guisti

Chair: To be confirmed
Vice-Chair: To be confirmed

Police, Fire and Rescue
Chair: Cllr Ian Blake
Vice-Chair: Cllr Lynne Davis

Review of Standing Orders
Chair: Cllr Gail Macgregor
Vice-Chair: Cllr Malcolm Johnstone

The Chair and Vice-Chair of Area Committees (Annandale and Eskdale, Nithsdale, Stewartry and Wigtown) will be decided at the next meeting of these committees by elected members.

In addition, the Provost of Dumfries will be Cllr Maureen Johnstone.

The Armed Forces Champion is to be confirmed (Labour).

You can see the Full Council meeting via our websiteDumfries and Galloway Council Meetings - Dumfries and Galloway Council (dumgal.gov.uk) and you can view the meeting papers at Agenda for Dumfries and Galloway Council on Tuesday, 7th March, 2023, 10.30 am - Dumfries and Galloway Council (moderngov.co.uk)